Week 15: Immunity

Download:

   Windows

   Macintosh

Sort of Scientifically Accurate


Well, this is it! The big finale. The last hurrah. The last of the 15 weeks. (But there is more to come! Check out the bottom of this post for info.) For this big event I bring you a game about the human immune system! It’s an action strategy game, mostly in 2D with a few 3D elements. Take control of an army of white blood cells as you lead them into battle against deadly pathogens! Create neutrophils and macrophages, and have them patrol the bloodstream, fending off waves of cuts and infections! I’m not sure how well it will run on older machines, so sorry if you experience lag!

Some Words About Development

The game is based on the systems of the innate immune system, and though everything is highly simplified and many liberties were taken for the sake of gameplay, the general ideas outlined are fairly accurate, according to Wikipedia and The Khan Academy. This was an ambitious project and it took about a week of very intense work, though I’m happy to say the final product is very close to my original vision.

Some things worked out very well, like the pathfinding and herding mechanisms for the white blood cells, but some problems do still exist. For one, a problem exists where after a certain point, the player has more G-CSF proteins than they know what to do with (100+) and the game essentially turns into “create-units-as-fast-as-you-can-forever-to-survive” which ends up being more of a chore than a game. I attempted to add some upgrades which automated unit creation a bit, but the problem isn’t entirely fixed. In retrospect, I think I need to rethink the entire unit creation system and make it more scalable to larger armies. Additionally, framerates begin to suffer after a while, as more and more units are created. Despite these flaws, I think this came out better than I’d expected and I hope you enjoy it!

But wait!! It’s not over!


That’s right! Tune in next Tuesday for a special surprise! Though the 15 games are over, I still have more to show you, and more for you all to play! Stay tuned, friends.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment